Personal · The Cereal Song

The Frenzy of Freelancing

Lately, I jumped off the deep end. Into freelance writing. I hadn’t thought of it seriously, of actually marketing my writing talents for something other than just warm and fuzzy feedback (although I won’t deny that is still the best part), until just a few months ago. Considering how long I’ve been writing, you’d think it only natural that the progression happen. I suppose it just took a little longer for me.

I’ve never been overly ambitious and I still haven’t figured out what I want to do with my life even after all this time, but writing has been a constant in my life for nearly seven years. It’s time I did something with it other than writing drafts of novels and letting them rot away on my hard drive.

The internet has made the opportunity to freelance write much easier than it has been in the past. Contracting websites such as odesk or elance, as well as craigslist and other websites, have thousands of jobs for anything you could think of. The going may be slow at first but building a profile and a client base takes time. It’s enough for me to actually be getting jobs.

In that vein, I’ve also sold my first short story to a small publisher. Publishing venues are open everywhere. All it takes is to access them and hope they like your work.

As always, my novel, The Cereal Song, is still up for sale on Amazon, Kindle, and Createspace. For Amazon Prime members, you can even borrow it for free! Can’t beat that, right?

As for current projects, I’m currently working on editing a novel, hopefully to make the Agency rounds later this year and see what we make of it. I have plans for more short story submissions to publishers in the coming year, and I plan to rewrite an old novel completely, almost from scratch. And NaNoWriMo will be coming around eventually, which means one more novel at least this year. ScriptFrenzy isn’t too far off either, although I’d like to finish editing my last screenplay before that gets here at least.

2012 looks to be a good year for writing, so here’s to crossing off those writing goals and starting anew!

4 thoughts on “The Frenzy of Freelancing

Leave a Reply

