Personal

Building your Portfolio

For those that don’t know, I recently quit my (very boring) job – I know, am I crazy? Quite possibly – and decided to become a full-time freelance writer.

What this means is that I have no fall-back. I have no day job to catch me if things don’t work out. I’ve never not had a fall-back in my life. I’m one of those people who likes to plan everything, from the next day to my vacation in six months. And I get upset when my plans don’t work out, but I suppose everyone does.

So of course, I need to plan this, so that I don’t have to end up living in a box somewhere, begging for scraps and screaming, “BUT I HAVE A COLLEGE DEGREE” like all the rest of the homeless people out there.

Part of the planning is building my portfolio. I’ll admit I don’t actually a real, like, folder labeled “portfolio” on my computer, but everything I’ve ever written for my clients is there. And that is my portfolio. It ranges from short stories to facebook posts to newsletter articles. Every new job I get is something to add to my portfolio. Only today, I added SEO writing to my list of skills.

Being a freelance writer means creating a structure and adhering to it.

I’m not always good at time management, but I always get everything done that I need to get done at the right time. Now, though, I need to create my time schedule and make sure I stick to it. I have a list of everything I need to write for the week written on a white board hanging up next to my desk, and I check it off as it gets done. Right now, it’s not a very long list, but that’s part of developing my business. Now, I have time to look for more jobs and time to do more things. Before, everything was just part time, just what I could fit around work. I haven’t had a weekend to myself for months now because I’ve been using them to do all my work.

I have weekends off now. And I have no idea what to do with them. It’s a weird feeling. I’m so used to writing constantly, working on different things, that when I don’t have anything to write, or when I force myself not to, I have no clue how to spend my time.

In that light, I’ve gone ahead and created a portfolio on here! It has links to content I’ve written for a few employers. So go check it out if you feel like it.

I guess it’s time to take up my hobbies again, except that I don’t have an oven so I can’t bake. I guess I’ll just have to spend more time with the rabbits. Convention is coming up, after all. A five day trip to Kansas and I won’t be missing a day of work!

4 thoughts on “Building your Portfolio

Leave a Reply

