fiction · Personal · Uncategorized

The Glamorous Life of a Freelancer

A lot of people probably think that freelancing is just an excuse to sleep late and work in your pajamas. Don’t get me wrong! I get to work in my pajamas if I want to, but I generally prefer to actually get dressed.

The reason for that is that, honestly, the only way to actually succeed as a freelance anything is to place structure on yourself and your life. It is a job not just an excuse to stay home all day.

Admittedly, I did wake up a bit late today, but as it’s nearing the end of the week, that means my work load is less and less at the moment. I generally wake up on Monday and Tuesday and get as much done as I possibly can. I like to set my work schedule from 9AM to 5PM with breaks in the middle whenever I get hungry.

I wake up, stumble out of bed and complete the chores I have to get done and then pull my laptop onto my bed. Don’t I have a desk, you ask? Well, yes, I do. It’s in a nice little nook in the corner of my room with calendars and white boards on either side, a printer and a magic 8 ball for when I need to ask those pressing questions of, “Am I going to make rent this month?”

sokka says hello

At the moment, though I’m not using the desk because one, I don’t like my desk chair, and two, half of my room is currently taken up by a rabbit who is in quarantine while he’s on antibiotics for a few weeks.

I do my work for the day, which can take anywhere from an hour to seven hours depending on what I’ve to work on. And then once that’s done, I go job looking.

Being a freelancer means never having an income to entirely rely on, so it’s important for me to keep looking for more jobs, better-paying jobs, jobs that can turn into a long-term thing that will create a semblance of stability for me and my income. Example: this week, one of my jobs I’ve had since April went on hiatus due to the employer’s personal reasons, which takes away a certain portion of my weekly income. This means I have to find a way to replace it and fast. Luckily, with the internet, there are jobs around every corner, so it’s just a matter of what you’re qualified to do and how many other people you’re competing against.

I’m not sure if it works differently for established freelancers, but since I’m just starting out, I do have to work harder to get the good jobs. But I try not to sell myself short on per word cost or anything like that. I weigh the amount of words by the price by how much estimated time it will take, and if it’s not a decent or fair cost, I pass. You can’t always pass, though, especially at the beginning. You’ve got to work your way up, which is why I recommend freelancing in your free time while still working a normal job before thinking about doing it full time. It will give you a cushion.

I wouldn’t say my life is glamorous, but I’m finally doing a job that I enjoy, and compared to all the jobs I’ve had in the past, this one is not nearly as strange as some.

3 thoughts on “The Glamorous Life of a Freelancer

  1. Why is your “plot” bunny (as I have come to see all rabbits) in quarantine? And I would love to read more on how you came to freelance. Should I be clicking back through the blog archives or will there be more info on the topic to come?

    Thanks!

    1. He is in quarantine while I’m in quarantine. No, uh, he came down with a respiratory infection about a month ago and in order to make sure he didn’t pass it on to the other rabbits, I took him in from the barn to live in my room. He’s on antibiotics now.

      I don’t know if I’ve exactly explained how it came about. It started last NaNo actually, so maybe I’ll do a real post about it soon.

      1. I don’t want to freelance but I certainly want to flee the corporate cube farm and do nothing but write (and all that comes with life as a successful indie author) so I’m always interested in how others made the leap :-). Wishing you all the success.

Leave a Reply

