fiction · Personal

The Whole Kitchen Sink

I’m on my third try re-writing this story.

It’s a short story that I just wanted to do as a time-waster before NaNo. My intention was to write a very short (2-3k word) story, something that could be read as a standalone, something soft and sweet, artsy, as I like to call those particular stories that just seem pretty. They’re harder to write than you think, though.

The first draft seemed like a beginning to a much longer story. It wouldn’t have been good on its own. It would have needed a continuation – a long, drawn-out something that I didn’t want to write for it.

The second draft felt like an epilogue to a story that I hadn’t written.

In the third draft, I’ve changed the story elements and changed the location. That seems to have worked, but now that I’m on the third try, I’m tired of writing it.

There are only 10 days left until NaNo. Most of those ten days are going to be taken up by a trip, though, so I don’t really have much time to do anything except get ahead on work before I go. It’s not a vacation, though, so it probably won’t be all that relaxing.

I’m going to Kansas. Yes, Kansas, for the first time. What’s in Kansas, you ask? Aside from corn fields and… I don’t even know what’s in Kansas. Tornadoes that leave you in an alternate reality? I’ll ask Dorothy when I get there.

I’m going for the American Rabbit Breeder’s Association (ARBA) Convention. That’s over 21,000 rabbits and guinea pigs in one place at the same time (all packed into a convention center). It’s 4 days of rabbits, showing, talking to friends, and buying animals that I can’t afford and don’t have room for – I am sorely tempted by a $200 rabbit that will be there. That might sound a little crazy to some, but I have strange and varied hobbies.

Where did October go? It feels like it was June just last week. I’m not sure I’m ready for November, but it’s going to come and I’m going to do it. Because I always do NaNo. So now I guess it’s back to rewrite number 3. If this doesn’t work out, I’m not doing a 4th rewrite.

3 thoughts on “The Whole Kitchen Sink

  1. If at all possible, a picture of one of those giant rabbits would be most appreciated. I’ve wanted to see one up close and personal since the first picture popped up on a web search I did a couple of years ago. I have come to associate those “giant” breeds with the mother of all plot bunnies that seem to plague me during NaNo season ;-).

    Oh, and maybe a blog about how you came to be taking such a trip – there’s a short story in there for sure.

    1. Uhh, funny story, we actually have one, a Flemish Giant, out in the barn. His name is Cletus. I’m not sure how big he is now – haven’t picked him up lately – but I’d say maybe 15lbs. He’s small for his breed, though. Most of our other rabbits range from 1lb to 4lbs. We raise the “fancy” breeds. Cletus is quite insistent when it’s feeding time and will help open the door faster so you can feed him faster.

Leave a Reply

