fiction · Writing Tips

5 Gloomy Day Writing Exercises

When it’s raining outside, personally, I always feel like doing absolutely nothing but curling up on the couch with popcorn and watching a very long movie (marathoning Lord of the Rings is always a good idea). These days, however, rainy days are few and far between for me considering I basically live in the desert. When they come along, however, that means I have to take real advantage of that comfy feeling to do something productive. If you do live in a place where it rains fairly often, you’re even luckier! You’ve got plenty of opportunities to do a gloomy day exercise!

  1. Work on a story/novel. If you already have one on the works, the rainy day is a perfect time to sit down and get a good chunk done. If you’re like me, the rain is often distracting because I love it so much, or if not, you can still hunker down over your computer with some treats like chocolate, tea or soda, whatever makes you feel happy. Bang out a couple thousand words without worrying about going outside.
  2. Plot. Don’t have a story to work on? Think of a new one! It’s not always as easy as it sounds, but if you’ve got the time, why not work on that niggling idea that’s been in the back of your mind? Get it all out on paper and see if you can’t draw some inspiration from it.
  3. Free-write. Write about whatever you want for however long you want. Free-writing can help open up your creative juices and get them flowing. Pick a random writing prompt or ask a friend for one.
  4. Reread old stories. I’m a big fan of rereading my own work. It can be a fun activity and also very instructive. Sometimes I read my very old stuff, the things I wrote when I first started writing. Sometimes, I cringe and have the urge to delete every word, but instead, I try to learn from my mistakes back then and take comfort in the fact that I have grown and improved. It’s also good to take a look at the stories you loved that you wrote. Those can help remind you of the things you do well and reinvigorate yourself for current projects.
  5. Make a list of things to work on in the coming months. I don’t know about you, but I love lists. I make lists for everything, but especially for to-do lists. They help me keep on track for actually accomplishing goals and writing things. It’s also nice to just be able to cross things off with a flourish when you finish them.

So if you find yourself stuck inside on a gloomy day, there are a bunch of things you can do to get your creative juices flowing again. Grab your favorite drink and a snack and get to writing. You never know how productive you can be until you do it!

What are some things you like to do on those gloomy days that come along?

2 thoughts on “5 Gloomy Day Writing Exercises

  1. I’m having a weekend like this. It’s not raining but I’m in a lazy mood, simply reading others work and free writing my own. Love these ideas here, agree wholeheartedly. Why not make the most of the situation.

Leave a Reply

