Uncategorized

The Holy Writing Space

I kept putting off this post, hoping that by the end of the year, I would actually have a writing space to show off, but alas, it’s almost November and I’ve run out of time. The holy writing space, however, is an important tool to have in a writer’s arsenal. For some people, it’s the most important thing, and for others, like me, it’s more of an afterthought.

I do like my writing spaces, and there are times when I have felt as though I couldn’t write because of where I was or how I was sitting, etc. I tend to have a very bad habit of writing on my bed. I know, I know. There is supposed to be a separation between sleeping and working/writing, but I don’t have it and I probably never will. It started back in college, actually during my very first NaNo attempt, and I guess it just kind of stuck. Writing on my bed has a more “fun” writing feel as opposed to work writing – or at the time, school writing.

Your writing space needs to fit you. Some people need big desks filled with things like pens and paper and other writerly objects. Me, I just need a place to put the snack. The bedside table is great for that. Mine is currently somewhere in the garage but I will hopefully dig it out in the next few days. Since I am in a new house, I need to find the best writing spot for me. I like being able to look out the window and stare at something as I try to work out a plot. For others, they need complete focus and a blank wall, or they want it to be filled with places for notes.

I love the idea of a note-filled space, but I don’t think it would ever work for me. I’ve tried it before and it’s just been left to rot. My ideas go into notebooks or file folders. I’m not really a visual person about that sort of thing. I like having pictures as references but the ideas need to be written down in a nice, neat sort of way.  Whatever floats your boat, though. When I lived in China, my friend dedicated her spare room to her NaNo plotting and writing. She had maps and notes and posters with plot points and characters scrawled all over them.

The bottom line is: make your writing space all about you. Don’t get a desk if you’re not going to use it. Make a place for snacks and notes for those middle-of-the-night ideas that you just have to write down before you forget. You’ll regret it if you don’t.

Leave a Reply

