Uncategorized

2013 Year in Review

It’s that time again. Time to dredge up pledges I made to myself last year and see if I actually did any of them, so here we go.

Last year, I made a resolution to:

  • write 3 novels
  • edit NaNo 2012
  • submit more short stories to publishers
  • read more books (haven’t picked a specific number yet)

Considering some of those, okay most of them, are extremely vague, I can only say I accomplished a few. One which is not on that list was to post 3 blogs per month, which I can say I did do. This blog marks the 36th entry this year. I hope you’ve enjoyed my ramblings so far.

As for the other entries, I only managed to write 2 novels this year. I did not edit my NaNo 2012 – the closest I got was putting it in Scrivener. I only submitted one thing to publishers. I did, however, read 10 books this year, which was the goal I set for myself on goodreads.

All in all, not a banner resolution year. On the other hand, they were pretty vague resolutions. I did manage to publish my novel, Chasing the Sunrise, in January, so that is something. I suppose it’s time to make some new resolutions for 2014.

I think this year, I need to turn my focus from writing to editing because, as I so often think, writing is great but if you never improve what you write, what is the point? So here are my resolutions for 2014:

  • Edit NaNo 2012 by November (write sequel for NaNo)
  • Edit NaNo 2013
  • Submit (1) novel to publishers
  • Read 10 books
  • Post 3 blog entries per month

I’d say those are some decent goals, and if I get all of them done, it will be a productive year. What are your resolutions for the year? Anything big planned for 2014?

Leave a Reply

