Writing Tips

Dead Lines.

I feel as though I discuss deadlines an awful lot on here, and most of the time, it’s about how to actually meet them, but I have a confession to make: I’ve been seriously slacking lately. Isn’t it clear enough given that this post is three days late? Can’t even make my own deadlines. How sad.

I happen to have a deadline tomorrow that I’m pretty sure I’m going to miss – or at least, what I turn in won’t be as far along as I wanted it to be at this point. I was given less than a month to completely rewrite a novella, and from 40k words, I’ve only managed to rewrite 25k of it. I could give you the excuses (for some reason, we always decide we need to remodel something right in the middle of my deadlines. This time, it was the bathroom) but excuses don’t get stuff done, do they?

Tips and tricks are all well and good but sometimes you just have to accept the fact that you aren’t going to make a deadline, so what do you do? There are a couple options to fixing the deadline crisis.

  • If you have an understanding editor, you can ask for an extension. You might be granted some more time.
  • You can turn in what you have and see what they think. This can be helpful especially if you’re stuck (in rewriting especially rather than just editing).
  • You can write like hell and hope to meet the deadline. I will be doing this tomorrow and praying I write enough to make sense.

The downside to doing any of these things is that you often don’t have enough time to review what you’ve written and heaven knows what you might be sending off. Hopefully you have an editor who understands and can help develop your mess of words into something beautiful. So when you feel like giving up, just remember that the deadline is coming and one way or another, it’s going to get done.

Leave a Reply

