Personal

The Future is Bulletproof

As it is June, I think perhaps it’s the perfect time to check in on my New Years Resolutions. Admittedly, I didn’t make very many and I haven’t looked at them much since I did, but you have to hold yourself accountable for the goals you set. So here we go:

Resolutions 2014:

  • Edit NaNo 2012 by November (write sequel for NaNo)
  • Edit NaNo 2013
  • Submit (1) novel to publishers
  • Read 10 books
  • Post 3 blog entries per month

Edit NaNo 2012 by November: Well, I have made some progress in that I’ve come to the conclusion that it needs a complete rewrite, so at least I’ve realized that. I had a friend read it over and I see many of the problems, most of which need to be completely discarded in the new draft.

Edit NaNo 2013: … Er, okay, Technically, I still haven’t even finished it. This is another case of the “needs a complete rewrite” syndrome. It does need a rewrite which means there’s not much point in finishing this draft. Of course, I haven’t looked at it since December so I’m a bit behind.

Submit a novel to publishers: Nope. Haven’t done that, as evidenced by the above. I have nothing even remotely ready to show to other people.

Read 10 books: Success! Finally something I am at least on track with. As of this moment, I’ve read 5/10 books this year. For a long time, I didn’t read anything, and I’ve read four of those five books within the past month and a half.

Post 3 Blogs per Month: I’m also on track there, though I may not always be as punctual as I would like.

So, 2 out of 5. It isn’t great, but I’ll take what I can get. For a long time, I was in a slump and it’s taken a bit of clawing to get out of it. Things have taken a turn for the better, though, since I had my birthday a few weeks ago. I think 27 is going to be a good year.

How about you? Do you even remember your resolutions or have you been going full steam ahead and make my accomplishments look pithy in comparison? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

