Writing Tips

5 Ways to Get Back on Task

I don’t know if you noticed, but I definitely missed my first post of the month on here. I don’t really have any excuse except plain forgetfulness. Work has been so busy that the 10th came and went and I didn’t even notice. I spent my weekends editing and learning new skills! Yeah, I finally taught myself gif-making and the basics of Adobe Illustrator. It’s one of those things that have been on my list forever that I never quite got around to. Of course, all of this new learning was simply a method of procrastination.

Falling behind is something we all do at one point or another. It’s easy to let things slide past and say you’ll do it later. In a way it’s different than procrastination. Things get out of your control and you forget to do things or don’t have time, or simply don’t want to. This spring has been incredibly busy for me, between work and editing tasks that must be completed by certain dates. That isn’t to say I’ve been doing everything I should.

As we all know, editing can be a beast. It takes a hundred times more effort and work than simply writing something. It means rethinking, and often, rehauling of works. Sometimes it turns out better, and sometimes you’re left wondering if you simply made it worse. When I reach that point, I tend to give up and pass it along. There is honestly nothing more you can do if you can’t see the changes being made. You have become blind to your own skills and abilities. That’s not to say you should trust everything someone else tells you about your work, but a pair of fresh eyes can be helpful if you’re stuck.

So I’ve fallen behind in a few areas and now I have to get back on task, so how do we do that?

  1. Make a list. I love lists—to do lists, organizational lists. I love them all. But seriously, they will help you get your thoughts in order and see where you need to be
  2. Set deadlines. It’s so much easier for me if people set deadlines for editing, but you have to be able to set your own deadlines as well.
  3. Make time. You may think you’re too busy (or you just don’t want to do it), but you have to carve out time to get things done.
  4. Give yourself a reward. Rewards are brilliant things and they can be great motivation.
  5. Punish yourself. On the other hand, some people don’t respond to rewards, so make up a punishment for yourself if you don’t meet your goals.

So far this year, I haven’t met many of my Resolutions, but there’s still time to change that. It’s only April. So let’s get going on 2015!

Leave a Reply

