Personal

The Reverse Bucket List

The end of this month, May 2015, marks my ten year anniversary of graduating high school! Ten years. That’s a long time and yet it still feels like just yesterday. How did I get so old? Where exactly did all that time go? This post isn’t about high school because, oh god, how much do I not want to relive high school? A lot. Instead, this post is about the last ten years of my life and what I have accomplished. A reverse bucket list, if you will.

A bucket list generally is a list of things you want to do before you die (and I do have one of those consequently) but a reverse list is the things you’ve already done. It’s so easy to look back on your life and think that you’ve accomplished nothing, but it’s usually not true. You may not have gone skydiving in Chile but you have done something. When you’re feeling down, you can go back and look at it and remind yourself that you have accomplished things and there’s plenty more to do in the future. So here’s my Reverse bucket list:

  1. Graduated college
  2. Traveled to 20 countries
  3. Lived and worked abroad in China and France
  4. Attended a Harry Potter red carpet movie premiere in London
  5. Published 2 novels
  6. Written 10 novels
  7. Read all of Jane Austen’s finished novels
  8. Read all of Harry Potter in French
  9. Won Reserve in Show (3 times!) with my rabbit
  10. Met Frank Iero from My Chemical Romance
  11. Met Gabe Saporta from Cobra Starship
  12. Met Pete Wentz from Fall Out Boy
  13. Became a freelance writer
  14. Got a job in an industry that could really create future opportunities for me
  15. Lived in 6 states

 

I know sometimes when you look at your life, it doesn’t seem all that impressive, and if my high school reunion had been a few years ago, despite the things I’ve done, I still wouldn’t have felt like I would have anything to say. Granted, I don’t plan on attending a reunion if they’re even having one. But I often think about how my life looks to someone outside of it. To me, it looks like I’ve been wandering aimlessly since I graduated college. My degree didn’t point me in a specific direction. It was simply, “Yay, you have a Bachelor of Arts in French, a language no one here uses! Go forth and get a job!” It didn’t help I graduated into a crashing economy but  ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

The important thing to remember is that you have done things! You have accomplished goals. And if you haven’t, there is still plenty of time to do it. Nothing’s holding you back but yourself. It may take time and detours to get there, but you can do it. I believe in you.

 

One thought on “The Reverse Bucket List

Leave a Reply

