Writing Tips

New Beginnings

A lot has been happening around here, but not much I can talk about yet. I’ve gotten pretty used to my job where exciting things happen but I can’t share them for months until things are ~official. Life is the same way. Don’t count your eggs before they’re hatched, my grandparents used to say. So what can we talk about? Well, it’s almost October, which means it’s almost November which means NaNoWriMo!

Some of you may do Camp NaNo, but I’ve never been able to quite get into that, so I stick to the traditional November novel. I know it’s early, but we’ve got just over a month before it’s time to start! So how do we get started? I’m going to be honest; I don’t have an idea yet. I’ve been wracking my brain for days but nothing has really come up. It doesn’t seem like it would be that hard, especially since people are always telling me about things I should write. What they think I should write and what I actually want to write don’t usually coincide.

I don’t know about you, but finding inspiration isn’t as easy as it looks. I’ve tried all the usual methods: thinking of things I haven’t done before, looking at pictures online hoping one might spark something, talking to other people. Nothing has worked so far. There are millions of things to write about in the world, but actually deciding what to write and then doing it is another story.

The title of this blog is New Beginnings, but there aren’t any here. They say that every story has already been written, and that’s probably true, but humans are creatures of habit. We like the same. Still, that doesn’t mean we have to do the same things over and over again. Perhaps I’ll find a twist to make to an age-old story, or a new angle. It’s all about making the old new when it comes to writing.

I hope, those of you who will be joining me in NaNo, that you have an idea ready to go! if not, there’s still a month left. And if all else fails, when November 1st comes, just start writing whatever’s in your head.

Leave a Reply

