Uncategorized

Losing my Time Management

Well, I completely missed last week. You ever have one of those weeks where you get absolutely nothing done? Yeah, that was me last week. Between surprise visits and a stressful week of waiting, I completely spaced most things I was supposed to do, including writing this. The bad news is, of course, that NaNo is coming up and I’m beginning to think I may not get through it this year.

I’ve been doing NaNo since 2007 and I haven’t missed (or lost) a year since I started. Hell, one year I wrote two novels in a month just because I could. But the times, they are a-changing. Actually, what’s going on is that everything, if it all goes smoothly without hiccoughs, will come to a head in November and the time I should spend writing will go to other things.

I didn’t really plan it that way, but circumstances change. I know I’m being really vague here, but I don’t want to announce anything until it’s official. And no, it doesn’t have to do with writing. Sorry, no published novels coming! (Don’t I wish, though.)

NaNo is coming, though, as it always does, and I’m going into it with the hopes that I will do my 50k words and finish before the month is up, despite the challenges that are likely to pop up in the middle. I guess it’s about budgeting time wisely. I mean, if I can write 50k in 5 days, surely I can do it over the course of a month? But I have less time than I did then.

The question is, then, how do you meet your deadlines with other things getting in the way?

Time Management!

People talk about this all the time, pretty much throughout your entire life, but it is a good skill to master. Me? I can budget my time well if I have pressing deadlines but if not, I’d rather spend the time watching Netflix or messing around online. It’s super easy to get distracted. I give myself rewards for staying on track with NaNo (usually chocolate of some form) because it makes me keep writing.

I guess whatever happens in November, I have to be ready to stick to my commitment and finish NaNo. I’ve never lost before and I don’t plan to start, though it may mean a few more late nights than usual. Be strong! Keep writing! And you’ll win too.

Leave a Reply

