Personal

2015 Year-End Review

It’s that time again. Always that time, isn’t it? 2015 is almost at an end and it’s time to face facts about what I did and didn’t do this year. To recap, here were last year’s writing goals:

  • Edit NaNo 2012 & 2013 & 2014 – yes, I’m going to try to do it all. Okay, or at least one.
  • Write 3 blogs entries per month – I’ve thought about upping this to 4 per month, but thinking up that many topics is hard enough
  • Read 15 books – yes, we’re making it higher!
  • Write 1 new novel

I definitely did not edit anything. Yep. I started to edit 2014 NaNo way back in May and then I got hopelessly distracted with other things. I think I maybe got through 3 chapters of edits before stopping.

I did write 3 blogs/month on here! Yay! I also completed my book-reading goals this year. And I wrote 1 novel. Yes, only one and that was for NaNo. To be honest, I didn’t even look at these goals once this year. I didn’t remember until just now that I resolved to edit all 3 novels! Ugh.

So 2016 is next. Sometimes it feels like making resolutions is a futile act. We’re all hoping somehow we’ll change and do better, but it doesn’t often happen. It probably doesn’t help that I’ve lost my accountability partner, the person who kind of helped me stay on track, or at least listened when I whined. She’s off in her own world now and I have to motivate myself (hint: it’s not easy nor is it fun by yourself). And clearly, I don’t do a good job of sticking to my guns. Time always gets away from me when it comes to writing and editing these days.

Anyway, I guess it’s time to make some goals but I don’t feel all that motivated to achieve them anymore. Perhaps I need a new accountability partner, or a writing partner, or someone who will force me to do stuff. IDK.

Goals for 2016:

  • Write 3 blogs/month
  • Read 20 books
  • Write 2 novels/novellas
  • Edit 1 novel
  • Find a new accountability partner (and hope it sticks?)

I guess those are as admirable goals as any. Let’s hope I actually get it done.

 

Leave a Reply

