Personal

Here’s to Five Years Blogging

According to WordPress, this month marks five years on this blog. 2011 seems like a lifetime ago. Many things were different–I was still living in France, for one. The Cereal Song had already been published for almost two years. I had a lot of ideas about where I could go with my life, but I’m not sure any of them actually worked out.

I’ve done some things in those five years. I published Chasing the Sunrise, moved to three different states, worked several unrelated jobs, got a cat, and most recently, bought a house. I’m not sure I foresaw any of that in 2011. I definitely never saw myself living in New Mexico, but here I am.

I guess the strangest parts of life are the parts you don’t expect. Five years ago, I didn’t have a clear idea of what I wanted, and I still really don’t. I’m lucky now to have a job I like at least. I have a cat who greets me when I get home (she’s honestly a little clingy for a cat). I probably have more than I expected to have at this point.

2

When I was a kid, I always thought that by age 30, I was supposed to have life figured out (everyone else did!), but that was the 90s. In the 90s, we were told that the right way to figure things out was to go to college, get a “good” job, and live out our lives that way. Times have changed and it’s not so easy to get that job, and going to college isn’t always the answer people thought it was. Instead, we’re kind of left to struggle on our own.

Five years of this blog is a long time and I hope I’m still here five years from now. Maybe I will even publish another book in that time! (hah, right?).

We’ll see. A lot happens in five years and you never quite know where you’re going to end up.

Leave a Reply

