Personal

We’re Never Ready (but we do it anyway)

I got an email the other day from NaNoWriMo that asked me, “Are you ready for publishing?” For a minute I had to stop and think because I couldn’t remember if I even finished my NaNo novel (spoiler alert: I didn’t). NaNo thinks I’m ready to think about publishing, though.

Logically, it’s been three months since NaNoWriMo ended, and presuming you finished your novel in November, you’ve had three months to edit, polish, and start hating everything you wrote. Admittedly, three months isn’t a long time to make something publish-worthy, even if you’re the best editor ever. I think NaNo might be jumping the gun.

On the other hand, I don’t know that anyone is ever really ready to publish something. At some point, you reach the end of your rope and just want to get it out of your face, and if that means pushing it into the world, so be it.

I’m definitely not ready to publish anything right now. Everything I’ve written in the past three years has just been languishing on my hard drive. Maybe once things calm down a bit I’ll be able to work on something, but it doesn’t feel like it right now.

We are never ready to publish, but if you want to get something out there, you just do it.  So are you ready?

Leave a Reply

