fiction

Camp NaNo’s A’Comin’

So I hear that Camp NaNo is just around the bend. Well, not my bend but perhaps someone else’s. My list of things to do hardly involves writing at all–just a long list of house projects that may or may not ever get done. Now that I have furniture, it might be just what I need to get me writing again. So what does this have to do with Camp NaNo? I’m not doing camp, in fact the few times I’ve tried Camp, I have failed miserably. I wonder why that is…

Actually I know perfectly why it is. To me, Camp NaNo doesn’t feel official. It’s not like NaNo with kickoff parties and chat groups and write-ins. On a smaller scale, I don’t feel the pressure to write. I don’t need pressure to write. Up until last year, I wrote just fine on my own whenever I felt like it. These days, I hardly write at all, NaNo or not.

The whole point of NaNoWriMo is getting you to write something. That’s it. Write something. It doesn’t matter what it is or how terrible it turns out (I just wondered for the second time in several months if I finished last year’s NaNo. The answer is no, still). Camp NaNo just isn’t the real thing.

So how do you get past that feeling? How am I going to get past not writing for four months? I’m not really sure. I never used to get writer’s block, and I’m not sure that’s what this is. It’s more like being tired all the time and choosing netflix over writing after long days. I’m hoping once I get the last few things moved over to my house (like the rabbits, oh boy), it’ll be less work. Maybe next weekend? Hah. I can be ambitious when I want to be.

Leave a Reply

