Personal

When I’m 64

I made a post last year, some time after my birthday, about what I wanted to accomplish by the time I turned 30. Welp, we’re one year closer to 30 so I thought I would check in and see if I did any of those things.

Soon I’ll be out of my 20s. Scary. I don’t know where the last 9 years went, but they went somewhere. I remember when I turned 19 and thinking that I’d be 20 soon and how old that was. I was very naive, and I continue to be. Oh well.

Back to my list! I made this list last year when things were quite different in my outlook. Here it is:

  1. Buy a house – Almost 30 and still don’t live alone. Would like to accomplish this. Also, would like a dog!
  2. Travel to Europe – It’s been far too long since I’ve been back.
  3. Publish a novel – Haven’t done one in 2 years… probably time to get going on that.

There it is. My three goals to accomplish. Here’s how I did:

Buy a House

Yes, I did do that! I bought it in December, finally moved in (after many repairs and upgrades) in February, and now I’ve been there three months. There’s still lots to do, but it’s getting done slowly. As for the dog, it’s in progress! I’ve been talking with a couple different breeders, and I think I’ve found the right one. Now just to send in the deposit for a puppy, and I may have one by the fall.

Travel to Europe

I did not do this ALTHOUGH by the time you read this, I will have! Yes, I’m going to Ireland for my birthday this year. I have not been to Ireland before, so it’s a new country. Mostly I’m excited to not be at work for a week (I need a vacation).

Publish a Novel

I did not do this. I did not even attempt this. I kind of forgot this was even a goal. This past year has been so utterly insane between buying the house and my sister having a baby, I haven’t had time to work on editing or publishing anything. I suppose I’ll leave it on the list to-do, but I don’t know that it’ll happen.

So let’s make a new list! I have one year left until I turn 30, what should I do with it?

  1. Publish a novel – we’ll keep it on (aspirational is the term)
  2. Landscape my backyard – this isn’t exciting but, well, it needs to happen
  3. Redo the guest bath – already in progress (wallpaper is hell)

I can’t think of anything “fun” to put on this list. Looking through other lists online, a lot I’ve already checked off. Perhaps I should work on improving my Italian. Again. I sort of work on it off and on.

A year has passed for us all. Have you done anything on your list?

Leave a Reply

