Book Review

Book Review: The Furies by Mark Alpert

I promised myself, back in January when I redid my goals for the year, that I wouldn’t read a book I gave less than three stars to. I’ve officially failed that goal thanks to this book, The Furies by Mark Alpert. I thought I was getting fantasy. What I got was science-fiction.

I’ve got nothing against science fiction, but it wasn’t what I’d expected or wanted from this particular book. It wasn’t just the switch from witches to scientists that bothered me, it was also the characters, the writing style, and the slowness over all of the book. I hate saying it because I know when I read reviews of my own work, when people don’t like stuff I’ve written, it can be upsetting. But an opinion is an opinion. And this is mine.17934444

The Furies started out fine, and even up through the first part of the book, it was fine.

Basic plot: a centuries old family, the Furies, have a rare genetic mutation that allows the women to basically be immortal and young, but not the men, which pisses some of them off. Ariel is our other MC, a Fury woman who is researching a way to bring immortality to the male members of the family. She meets John Rogers, our MC, and he gets dragged into the war between her family.

The book moved along fast at first, and I could overlook the unnecessary exposition, the paragraphs where John seems to know more than he should and tells us very plainly. I couldn’t overlook the annoying “instant attraction” to a complete stranger, so much that he’s willing to die for her. It would have been believable if this had been about witches (magic?) but it’s not. Things went fine until they got to the Haven and I thought, now what?

The rest of the book was basically a “now what?” moment. It was a bit of a slog after the first action-packed part, especially since I didn’t care a bit about Ariel or John. I’ll completely admit that I totally skipped over the one sex scene in the book. It felt weird and sort of out of place. A fade to black would have worked just fine. Another example of the unnecessary details in this book.

The only other part I was actually interested in was the climax at the end, but I don’t think reading the rest of the book was worth it.

Eh, well, I took a chance on this book and I didn’t like it. I wanted more magic, which there was none. I suppose it’s an interesting premise, but lacking in execution.

 

Leave a Reply

