Writing Tips

The Perfect Playlist

Music. It makes the world go ‘round, and it helps set a mood for writing. Some people can’t write with any kind of noise or distraction, but I find that if I’m really focused, I’m not even paying attention to the music.

Tell me about your playlists! Do you have many or just put the music on shuffle?

I tend to do the latter unless I know I’m going to be writing a particular type of scene that requires sad, depressing music or happy upbeat things. Sometimes, you need an epic soundtrack for action scenes. Sometimes, you need something sappy and sweet for love stories. Sometimes, you don’t need either and you just need something other than the chirping in your mind when you can’t think what to write next. Or at least, the distraction of skipping through ten songs to find the “right” one.

Leave a Reply

