Personal

The Oncoming Storm

I hate to say it, but NaNoWriMo is just around the corner. Again.

I’ve been doing NaNo since 2007, so nine years now. When I started, I was a junior in college and I had quite a bit of free time on my hands. Before then, I’d never bothered to finish an original novel. I’d never even really bothered to try to write one, but NaNo gave me the push I needed at the time. Nine years later, I’ve written¬†lots of novels, much improved from that first attempt.

However, I have not finished the last 3 NaNo novels. I wrote 50k, sure, but then I stopped. I never pushed to the end because once November ended, so did my motivation. The whole point of NaNo is to write something, so I guess I succeeded in that aspect. My personal goal, however, has always been to write something I wouldn’t normally during NaNo. I’ve tried mainstream fiction, young adult dystopian, fantasy, romance. I’ve always tried to use it to break out of the norm, to see if maybe there’s a hidden talent or aspiration I’ve been missing in my typical genres.

It’s coming up again, NaNoWriMo, which means I’ll have to start thinking about a plot, a character, a something. I want to write something I’m excited about, but I’ve been having trouble finding that thing lately. I’ve reached a point where I don’t feel like I need to try a new genre every year. I’m certainly not going to attempt a mystery or thriller (I already know it’s not my strong suit), so perhaps it’s time to take a look back at what I’ve done well and see if we can’t revisit it.

Well, guess it’s time to get started. Any thoughts on your NaNo just yet?

Leave a Reply

