fiction

Down the Rabbit Hole: Ruining Canon

There’s a good reason I tend not to write sequels to completed novels. I don’t want to ruin my own canon. There’s a difference between a sequel, a spin-off, and a continuation. I say, when you have a completed series, don’t create a sequel that could potentially ruin the previous books.

This is all stemming from the latest Harry Potter release. Not just The Cursed Child, but all the information JK Rowling has seen fit to release from her world. For a while, after the series ended, I was dying for more. More information, more details, more everything because I didn’t want it to be over, but going on 10 years since the book 7 was released, I’ve grown weary of every time JKR posts something on her twitter that’s meant to be a deeper look into her world. I don’t want bits and pieces of after-the-fact information. We the fans have had almost two decades to figure out this information on our own, to create our own ideas based on information in the books and then the author comes along and throws it all out with a tweet.

I get that it’s her world and she can do what she wants with it, but ten years later, it might be time to stop. The only thing I want from the Harry Potter universe is more novels–not stories in play form with incredibly out of character writing, not movies based on a twenty-page informational “textbook.” I want Marauder prequels. I want spin-off stories of other characters that don’t involve the original Trio. I want a Draco Malfoy redemption story. I don’t want a 140 character tweet telling me what house Teddy Lupin got into.

Yes, there is Pottermore as well. Pottermore, a sad site in place of the encyclopedia we were promised. HP Lexicon is a better resource most of the time, and it’s been around much longer.

That, my friends, is why I don’t write direct sequels to anything. Spin-offs? Okay. Prequels? Sometimes. But not sequels if everything has been wrapped up in a neat little bow. Let’s not ruin what we have, okay?

Leave a Reply

