Personal

Anniversaries of a House

I actually missed the ~real~ anniversary (which was on the 10th), but five days late isn’t bad. Yes, it’s been a whole year since I closed on my first house!

We all know 2016 has been a pretty bad year all around. It started off with my first ever snow storm that left the town pretty much stranded for a week. Then I got a sinus infection for the first time ever, and we ended with the terrible depression of getting rid of a puppy I’d wanted forever. Sure, there were some good moments in there (I went to Ireland for the first time, and I got to see my friend Rebecca, who I haven’t seen since we lived in China together), but overall, 2016 wasn’t great. But we’re not here for that. We’ll save that for the End of the Year post, shall we?

It’s been one year since I bought a house. Whew. Crazy. To be honest, I wasn’t ever sure I would get to that point in my life. It seemed so simple when I was a kid. My parents owned a house when they were, like, 22. Here I was, way behind the curve (or so it felt. At this point, I’m really not. It’s just that expectations have changed). Somehow, I expected that to happen to me, though once I hit college, it became abundantly clear that it would not.

So a year later, what have I learned? Well, I’ve definitely learned a lot of home improvement things. I was pretty handy before, but I’m even more now. Sure, the bathroom sink still isn’t hooked up since we ripped out the vanity in June. Sure I haven’t even started on the kitchen, or redone the second gate in the backyard. Yes, I haven’t taped or mudded the garage. I haven’t even finished replacing all the doorknobs with silver (getting rid of 50 year old tarnished brass knobs). But I did spend two hours this weekend raking the front yard while the neighbor commented, “It’s never-ending, isn’t it?”

For a while there, I spent every weekend working on the house. I mean, I closed on it in December but didn’t move in until February because there was so much to do. It’s been given a complete overhaul since I bought it – all new paint, all new floors (with the exception of the living room), all new electrical outlets, many new light fixtures, bathroom remodel, new water heater, and it’s almost completely furnished (finally got dining room chairs!). I have done so much to this house, it’s ridiculous. And there’s still so much more to do.

So it was a year of home improvements, so I hope next year, we can get to more of the “fun” stuff (you know, like painting kitchen cabinets and digging out weeds and replacing windows. Totally fun).

Leave a Reply

