Personal

Priorities

Sometimes I think I have things under control, only to have the rug pulled out from under me by something totally unexpected. I always thought, as a kid, that there was a schedule to follow. You know: college, married by 25, kids, same career for 35 years until I retired. That was before I realized I didn’t like kids, had no desire to get married, and had no idea what career I would want to do for 35 years. Now, I’m almost 30, and definitely “off schedule.”

Part of it is different generations. It was completely logical for Baby Boomers to follow that pattern. They could afford college simply by working. They picked a career and stuck with it because there were jobs. “Traditional” values were still expected. Times change, economies change, expectations change.

There have been plenty of times when I thought I had things figured out, but usually only lasted a few days until my brain came up with the million reasons why it wouldn’t work out. These days, I try not to think about the future too much because it just makes me anxious.

I’ve got some priorities, in the short-term. Keep working on my house, fixing things, making it nicer, keep working on my novels. It’s hard to think in long-term goals when things could change tomorrow, so for now, I’ll keep my short-term goals short and maybe I’ll accomplish some.

Leave a Reply

